Silver Jubilee: 'Everybody Nowhere Knows This'

Silver Jubilee

Everybody Nowhere Knows This

The title of this debut EP from Silver Jubilee (also known as the Disc Exchange House Band, since several of its members work there) is a reworking of Neil Young's Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere, his first album with Crazy Horse, from 1969. It's a fitting play on words, since Everybody Nowhere Knows This draws a crystal-clear influence from Young's epic psych-folk hippie jams like "Cowgirl in the Sand" and "Down by the River." (The band pulls from other sources, too, like Yo La Tengo and Wilco, in particular, but those lead straight back to Young.) The new EP isn't entirely derivative, though, and Zachary Dane and Hollye Bynum's shared vocals add a distinctive touch to the band's droning country-rock workouts.