A Local Music Release Recap

The Dirty Guv'nahs new Somewhere Beneath These Southern Skies is one of the three highest-profile local music releases of the summer. The death-metal band Whitechapel released its fourth album, Whitechapel, in June, and modern-rock mainstays and radio heroes 10 Years are set to release Minus the Machine, their sixth album and first for their own Warner Music subsidiary Palehorse Records, on July 30.

There's a lot of other local music coming out this summer, though. Here's a quick rundown of some notable Knoxville music releases:

• The folk-rock/Americana band Kelsey's Woods (featuring former Metro Pulse advertising rep Russ Torbett) is almost set to release its first full-length album, One More Heart to Break, later this month.

• The big 11-member world-beat/tropical-rock ensemble Marina Orchestra has already released its debut album, Take on the Silence, which is available in hard copy at the band's shows or at marinaorchestra.com.

• Rising indie/synth-pop band Yung Life released its self-titled album—the follow-up to last year's Youth's Hours—in June. The band is currently on a two-week, 10-date tour of the East Coast and Midwest that will wrap up with a CD release show at Pilot Light on July 28.