President Obama Pays Price for TVA Board Noms

Call it a three-for-one deal.

Why would President Barack Obama re-nominate Bill Sansom to another term on the TVA board? The Republican businessman was ousted as chair by his colleagues and had said he did not expect to be reappointed by the Democratic president.

Obama has also nominated three new faces to the TVA board—Marilyn Brown, Neil McBride, and Barbara Haskew—who will change the tenor and tone of the board. But these nominees have to be approved by that exclusive club known as the U.S. Senate. The two Republican senators from Tennessee will have a say on when and if these confirmations will occur.

Sansom, who was Transportation Commissioner under former governor and now Sen. Lamar Alexander, was the price Obama paid to ease the way for his other nominees to the board.