Marriage Dominoes Continue Falling

The score now is three out of four.

There are four states in the Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals based in Cincinnati. Tennessee, Kentucky, Ohio, and Michigan. Three federal judges, one each from Tennessee, Kentucky, and Ohio, have ruled that the states must recognize legal same-sex marriages from other states.

The cases in all three states will be appealed and converge in Cincinnati. Given the unanimity of federal judges in the three states in ruling for gay marriage, the Sixth Circuit appears likely to order all the states to recognize same sex marriages from other states.

Tennessee has passed a constitutional amendment forbidding same sex marriage.