Local Democrats Choose Convention Delegates

Local Democrats have chosen their delegates to attend the national convention. In something of an upset, only three of the delegates are from Knoxville, the other three from smaller counties in the 2nd Congressional District.

Elected from Knox County at a convention on Saturday are Gloria Johnson, county chair; Linda Haney; and Jerome Miller. With some hard work and some organizing, Monroe County Democrats got Judith Lee and Brandon Cook elected as well as Preston Fields from Blount County.

The Democratic convention to re-nominate President Barack Obama and Vice-president Joe Biden will be in Charlotte, N.C. the week of Sept. 3.