Local Democrats Choose Convention Delegates

Local Democrats have chosen their delegates to attend the national convention. In something of an upset, only three of the delegates are from Knoxville, the other three from smaller counties in the 2nd Congressional District.

Elected from Knox County at a convention on Saturday are Gloria Johnson, county chair; Linda Haney; and Jerome Miller. With some hard work and some organizing, Monroe County Democrats got Judith Lee and Brandon Cook elected as well as Preston Fields from Blount County.

The Democratic convention to re-nominate President Barack Obama and Vice-president Joe Biden will be in Charlotte, N.C. the week of Sept. 3.

© 2012 MetroPulse. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Comments » 0

Be the first to post a comment!

Share your thoughts

Comments are the sole responsibility of the person posting them. You agree not to post comments that are off topic, defamatory, obscene, abusive, threatening or an invasion of privacy. Violators may be banned. Click here for our full user agreement.

Comments can be shared on Facebook and Yahoo!. Add both options by connecting your profiles.