Q&A: Whitney Scott, Bartender at Sapphire

Name: Whitney Scott

Age: 24

Sign: Cancer

Occupation: Bartender at Sapphire

Where are you from?

I grew up in Nashville. I had an awesome childhood. My mother is a kindergarten teacher and used to be a ballerina. She encouraged me to be imaginative. I used to have fashion shows playing dress up in her and my grandmother's old clothes. My dad is an actor. He's been in television and movies for years. Now he does voice work, mainly for NBA and NFL promos. My life was very animated.

What brought you to Knoxville?

I came here four-and-a-half years ago to attend UT. I chose Knoxville because I wanted a change. UT was close enough to home to visit, but far enough away for a fresh start. In college I started studying Egyptology but switched to history. I quit because I thought I wanted to do culinary school. I'm still debating it.

What do you love about Knoxville?

I love the people here. I wish I could pick Knoxville up and put it in a corner of a large city. The people I have met here are people I always want in my life. I think I keep good company. I have a very well-rounded group of friends. They are all from different places and are going different places. Knoxville ties us all together. I love that the mountains are so close. I think people in the city can forget just how pretty eastern Tennessee can be. I love Nashville, but I've really had the opportunity to come into myself here in a way I couldn't have there.

What do you hate about Knoxville?

The air quality; my allergies are so bad here. I wish there was more to do at night. More music, more venues, more festivals. I also wish we could do more about our homeless problem.

How would you describe your personal style?

I don't think I have one certain style. It's whatever I feel like that day, that's what you're going to get. My mood definitely tells you a story—how I'm dressed tells you how I feel. If I'm in a great mood you'll see me in flashy colors. I love spandex, boots, and layers. I love to wear things in different ways, like turning dresses into shirts and vice versa. When I don't have money to spend on clothes, I try to make something new out of what I have.

Can you tell us a secret?

I'm very shy and emotional. I care a lot about people and things. I'm here to make people smile and see where life takes me!

Worn Clothing

Cardigan: Target, three years ago, $12

Dress: hand-me-down from roommate, three months ago

Belt: Target, two years ago, $20

Tights: Mast General Store, two weeks ago, $7

Boots: Reruns, two weeks ago, $45