Jennifer Zimmerman, Bistro Server and Doting Wife

Name: Jennifer Zimmerman

Age: 27

Sign: Taurus

Occupation: Bistro Server And Doting Wife

Where are you from and how did you end up in Knoxville?

I'm from the small farmers town of Brookville, Ind. I lived there all my life until it was time for college. I moved to Knoxville to attend Johnson Bible College. I decided on JBC because it wasn't too close or too far from my family. I studied children's ministry, but after graduation I realized that I don't want to do it. I am thankful I went to Johnson Bible College—that's where I met my husband!

Any ideas of what you'd like to do with your life now?

I'm not really that sure. I'm interested in nutrition and I'm passionate about animals. I think it would be nice to work in an animal shelter helping with adoptions. I definitely want to be a mom someday, but I'd like to have some kind of career outside of that.

What do you love and loathe about Knoxville?

I know most people don't feel this way, but I like that I see the same people out and about. It's easier to make friends that way. The downtown area has really grown since I moved here. It's nice to see all the changes they have made. I'm not a big drinker, so I make it down for First Fridays and festivals. If I am hanging out downtown it's usually at Coffee and Chocolate, Tomato Head, Night Owl, Sunspot, and the Bistro. The thing I dislike the most about Knoxville is the lack of things to do at night aside from drinking. I also wish we had more choices in types of restaurants and shops downtown.

What current fashion trends do you love and loathe?

I am a big supporter of layering, skinny jeans, tights, and bright colors. I do not like those long furry vests, leather shorts, and guys going out and all of them wearing the exact same thing. That's creepy to me.

How would you describe your personal style?

Frugal. I shop at thrift stores and rarely spend more than $30 when shopping. By thrifting, you can get a lot of unique things. The '80s-'90s Molly Ringwald/Twin Peaks looks are great and provide a lot of color. In high school I tried dressing like everyone else, but it really didn't work for me. In college I started playing around with different patterns and colors. I guess I know what I can't pull off—rocker chic and sporty—so I just work around that. I love a softer look.

Worn Clothing:

Shirt: forever 21, a few days ago, $20

Skirt: TJMaxx, last year, $15

Leggings: Target, last winter, $5

Shoes: Amvets, 3 months ago, $4